Annual General Meeting of the United Kingdom Surf Rowers League Minutes of the AGM held at the RNLI Support Centre, Wadebridge, Cornwall. Sunday 21st November 2010

AGENDA ITEMS

Attended by:

Nick Beringer - President, Louise Gapp - Chair, Dan Berriman, Peter Gaisford, Nick Healey, Gary Walters, Cris Ballinger, Steve Instance, Phil Martin.

The meeting opened at 13:35 hrs

1. Apologies

Jane Mansfield, Emma Gaisford, Gethin Edwards, Andy Cox, Lowenna Bradley, Kim Marie Clothier, Pete Postle

2. Minutes of the previous UKSRL AGM held on 22nd November 2009

The minutes of the previous UKSRL AGM were agreed and signed as a true and correct record

Proposed: D Berriman Seconded: S Instance

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Officers Reports

(i) Presidents Report - see attached.

The President thanked the Officers and all those who contributed to the advancement of surf Rowing.

(ii) Chairmans Report - see attached

The Chair commented upon a very good season and the standard of competition between the crews is very strong.

(iii) Treasurers Report – see attached, the UKSRL would like to thank Jane for her work with the accounts. Note there was concern expressed at the drop in membership numbers.

(iv) Secretaries Report - see attached

The Secretary would like to thank Dan Berriman for his help this year, it made a big difference to the management of the UKSRL events

v) Publicity Officers Report - see attached

Attendees would like to continue the UKSRL blog and suggested Andy to ask for additional contributions to the blog from the members.

(vi) Development Officers Report – see attached

The Development Officers raised a number of points with which attendees agreed. It was agreed that the league would support local initiatives taken by clubs to promote surf rowing as a training exercise to encourage new clubs and novice rowers to attend and participate.

(vii) Competition Officers Report - see attached

5. Election of the Officers of the UKSRL

Honorary President: Nick Beringer Proposed: L. Gapp

Chairman: Louise Gapp

Vice Chairman: Emma (Spike) Gaisford

Secretary: Peter Gaisford

Treasurer: Jane Mansfield

Publicity Officer: Andy Cox

Development Officer: Phil Martin

Competition Officer – Dan Berriman

One Junior Member: position not filled

Committee Members Representatives

Chris Lane Nick Healey Mike Dowell Gethin Edwards Ed Boyns Martin Downey Andy Bray Liz Tremayne Ellis Hagger

Seconded: C. Ballinger

Proposed: N. Beringer Seconded: D. Berriman

Proposed: L. Gapp Seconded: G. Walter

Proposed: C. Ballinger Seconded: G. Walters

Proposed: D. Berriman Seconded: L. Gapp

Proposed: N. Healey Seconded: G. Walters

Proposed: L.Gapp Seconded: N. Healey

Proposed: P. Gaisford Seconded: G. Walters

Proposed: D. Berriman Seconded: C. Ballinger

6. UKSRL Representative on The European Surf Rowing Federation

Dan Berriman

Proposed: C. Ballinger Seconded: G. Walters

7. UKSRL Representative in the SLSA of GB Sports Commission

Nick Healey

Proposed: S. Instance Seconded: G. Walters

8. Representative on the West Region Rowing Council WRRC

Phil Martin

Proposed: N. Beringer Seconded: C. Ballinger

9. UKSRL membership subscription fee 2011

No change fees to remain as:-

- a) Individual Membership to be £25.00 p.a.
- b) Junior Membership to be £15.00 p.a.

10. New Trophies for the UKSRL Summer Series

The President felt that the UKSRL should look to replace the current mens and womens Summer Series trophies. There are sufficient finances available to have two trophies more in keeping with the stature of achievement. Attendees agreed that trophies would be more appropriate as the Summer Series is a squad based competition. A suggestion would be to adapt an old sweep oar blade as a trophy.

Committee to obtain quotes and look at options for presentation at the next management meeting in March 2011

Meeting closed at 15:25 hrs